Final Fantasy VI – Aria de Mezzo Carattere / Celes’ Theme

PDF File Download: Final Fantasy VI – Aria de Mezzo Carattere NAF Tab

Original Composer: Nobuo Uematsu

Technical notes: Requires use of cross fingering and half-holing on bottom note. Play on an NAF in the key of D if you wish to accompany the original track.

About: One of the most well-loved and best known parts of Final Fantasy VI amongst fans of the series is the infamous Opera scene. The lyrics have been translated to Italian and sung as a real Aria and updated lyrics were created for the GBA remake, but I’ve included the original ones below.

On playing: The cross fingering, while not particularly common, isn’t too tricky (2nd hole from foot end open, all others closed) and the use of half-holing is on the very bottom hole so neither should be too much of a challenge. There is an alternate ending line; in Celes’ theme the melody is played and the alternate line occurs on the repeat, but in Aria de Mezzo Carattere, it’s played at the end of the third verse before the bridge part (Speak to me once more) and at the end of the fifth verse (I’ll wait for you always) Listening to the tracks will soon help you place it.

Listen to the track on YouTube:

Celes’ Theme:

Aria di Mezzo Carattere:

Lyrics:
Oh my hero, so far away now.
Will I ever see your smile?
Love goes away, like night into day.
It’s just a fading dream.

I’m the darkness, you’re the stars.
Our love is brighter than the sun.
For eternity, for me there can be,
Only you, my chosen one…

Must I forget you? Our solemn promise?
Will autumn take the place of spring?
What shall I do? I’m lost without you.
Speak to me once more!

We must part now, my life goes on.
But my heart won’t give you up.
Ere I walk away, let me hear you say
I meant as much to you…

So gently, you touched my heart.
I will be forever yours.
Come what may, I won’t age a day,
I’ll wait for you, always…

Leave a Reply

