Les Misérables – Castle on a Cloud

PDF File Download: Les Miserables – Castle on a Cloud NAF Tab

Original Composer: Composed by Claude-Michel Schönberg and lyrics by Herbert Kretzmer.

Technical notes: Requires use of cross-fingering, half-holing and two upper octave notes. Play on an NAF in the key of A if you wish to accompany the original track.

About: As sang by Little Cosette whilst dreaming of a better life than that she currently lives stuck with the Thénardiers, sweeping floors. A very simple, sweet melody to play – I was inspired to transcribe it after seeing the 2012 movie and have included the relevant lyrics below.

On Playing: The first section of the tab is the melody for the verse (There is a castle on a cloud/I know a place where no-one’s lost), the second the chorus (There is a lady all in white.) You’ll want to be accustomed to hitting the first two upper octave notes with your flute – they occurs three times each within the verse. The half-hole occurs in line with the notes above and below it at the end of the verse, so isn’t too challenging to play. The cross-fingered note is a very commonly used one; you’ll know it well by now if you play my other offerings! :)

Listen to the track on YouTube:

Lyrics:
There is a castle on a cloud
I like to go there in my sleep
Aren’t any floors for me to sweep
Not in my castle on a cloud.

There is a lady all in white
Holds me and sings a lullaby
She’s nice to see
And she’s soft to touch
She says: “Cosette I love you very much.”

I know a place where no one’s lost
I know a place where no one cries
Crying at all is not allowed
Not in my castle on a cloud.

Leave a Reply

